gary matzke

Gary Matzke

Founding Director

Professor Emeritus


Gary R. Matzke, Pharm.D., FCP, FCCP, FASN, FNAP, is a professor emeritus in the Department of Pharmacotherapy and Outcomes Science at Virginia Commonwealth University. He received his baccalaureate pharmacy degree from the University of Wisconsin School of Pharmacy in 1973 and his Pharm.D. degree from the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy in 1977. He is a past-president of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, a fellow of the college and has served as an elected member of the ACCP Research Institute Board of Trustees. He is a past chair of the Council of Faculties of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and a member of the AACP Board of Directors. He served as chair of the Nephrology and Urology expert committee of the United States Pharmacopeia from 2007-10 and a member of the USP Medicare Model Guidelines Expert Committee from 2007-15. He is an elected distinguished practitioner of the National Academy of Practice, past chair of the Pharmacy Academy, and a member of the Public Policy Committee. He was a congressional fellow from 2003-05 in the offices of United States Senator Judd Gregg while the senator was chairman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (2003-04) and the U.S. Senate Budget Committee (2005).

He has served as the principal investigator on more than 150 clinical investigations of the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of drugs in patients with chronic kidney disease, acute kidney injury and those receiving continuous and intermittent renal replacement therapy. During his career, he has mentored 20 postdoctoral fellows and Ph.D. clinical scientists. Matzke has published more than 200 peer-reviewed manuscripts and 54 book chapters. He has served on the editorial boards of the Annals of Pharmacotherapy, the International Journal of Antimicrobial Agents, Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, the Journal of Clinical Pharmacology and the American Journal of Kidney Disease. He is founding chair of the Health Policy expert panel of the Annals of Pharmacotherapy. He also has edited 10 books, including seven editions of Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiological Approach. In recognition of these efforts, he has received the Russell R. Miller Literature Award from the American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the Award for Sustained Contributions to the Literature from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Prior to joining VCU, he was a professor of pharmacy and therapeutics and professor of medicine at the University of Pittsburgh from 1991 until 2005.